Better bread.

We’ve come down with the plague here in Shermanville (ok, it’s only a cold/flu, but it feels like the plague) and neither Josh nor I have had the energy to do any cooking whatsoever. The most effort we want to put into making food right now is toasting bread and putting on the kettle. Today, while we were in the store stocking up on Throat Coat, we passed by the bread section and I decided to do something that I haven’t done in several months: buy bread.

A while back, I was looking at ways to remove processed foods from our diet while cutting back on our grocery costs. A simple answer was staring me right in the face: I’ve had a bread maker sitting on a shelf in my kitchen for ages, and have barely used it. Why not bake our own bread at home? Not only would it be cheaper over the long run, I would also have complete control over what went into our bread. After a couple trial loaves, I realized that I preferred removing the dough from the machine before it baked; the resulting loaf from a bread machine is pretty dense, while loaves baked in a conventional oven are just so much, well, better.

Today, however, I didn’t even have the energy to throw in the ingredients for our favorite honey whole wheat loaf for toast. The very thought of pulling out my bread machine made me tired, so we just bought a loaf from the store. Later, as Josh and I were munching on our toast, he turned to me and said, “You’ve ruined me.” Yeah, dude, I’ve ruined myself, too. As soon as I have the energy, I’m putting the bread maker back to work!

About Carol

Born and bred Colorado girl, livin' it up in the Emerald City.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better bread.

  1. Rebecca says:

    Same thing happened at our house, except I have a kitchen-aid, not a bread machine! And of course my sourdough starter. But I think we hadn’t bought a loaf of bread from the time when we were married until I came down sick last winter, so over a year. Homemade bread is so much better, and you get the bonus of that glorious smell permeating the house. πŸ™‚

  2. Carol says:

    Mmmm, I LOVE the smell of freshly baked bread in the house! So good! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

